9 thoughts on “Two Roads Diverged. . .

  1. Congrats on getting the offer. UBC has the most gorgeous campus I’ve ever seen, it’s simply stunning. You should consider that when making your choice.
    Btw Stravinsky has long been a favourite of mine. I love Symphony of Psalms.

    • Mmm, so I hear. Right on the ocean in its own little corner of the city. Plus, during the Olympics I’m sure the city will be both beautiful and bustling…providing for quite a few feature stories. The Ryerson campus is nice enough…but it’s not really a “campus” being that it’s all over Toronto. Still, the building that houses the J-school program is very cutting-edge. I’m going to visit on Wednesday and I think that will help me make my choice. If the director doesn’t persuade me, then it looks like I may be westward bound.

  2. What awesome news! Congratulations Fab! My parents have retired to BC, and I must say if I had a choice, I would pick Vancouver over Toronto hands down. It is a fantastic place to live. :) Good luck with the decision.

    • The pendulum keeps swinging back and forth…but I visited Ryerson the other day and spoke to the director, Gene Allen. He made some pretty convincing arguments for staying in Toronto. There’s only one thing I’ve decided: I can’t regret whatever choice I make because I’m doing the best I can with the information I have.

    • Well, I’m not sure because the director’s wording was a little confusing:

      In my capacity as Director, I also want to extend a special invitation for you to visit Vancouver and our School over the next few weeks if you are in the Vancouver area. If you feel a visit would be helpful in making your decision, we hope you will take advantage of this opportunity. Our graduate advisor, Barbara Wallin, will be more than happy to answer any questions you might have in person, and to give you a tour of our campus.

      But I don’t think I’d be able to anyway because school is extremely hectic right now and I only have until the 17th to decide.

Leave a Reply

