5 thoughts on “So, You Think You Can Do Katimavik? (4/4)

  1. Pingback: So, You Think You Can Do Katimavik? (2/4) « The Fab Files

  2. Pingback: So, You Think You Can Do Katimavik? (1/4) « The Fab Files

  3. Hey! Pure awsome-ness. I am curently participating in Katimavik in Minland Ont, and finding some eeriely similar situations between out adventures. Though I am only in my second week I am at a desk job, doing data-entry work that i really-really dont like(wearing steel-toe boots) and there is a Julie that speaks little-to-no english. Your blog has brightened my hope that I might be able to change job fields and do something a little more hands on like some of the adverts implied! Regardless I thouroughly enjoyed your story (well written btw) and hope my adventure is as adenturous as yours!

    Tyler O’Halloran

    • Hey Tyler!

      Thanks for reading. Every experience is different but I can guarantee you that you’ll come out stronger, smarter, and thicker-skinned.
      If you can’t change your first job placement, let them know about some of your skills that they aren’t using.
      At the Leduc city hall, for example, they let me do some display cases when I said I had an interest in art.

      I find that we all get dealt some great cards (awesome job or super billet family or really cool community) and some not so great ones
      (incompetent PL, awkwardness around the stinky kid–apparently every group has one–or really hard house-managing week).
      The variables are part of the katima-adventure. Enjoy your best cards and learn from your not-so-great ones.

      I’m so jealous of your katima-life right now. I’m stressing out in grad school and sometimes I long for the adventures of the good ol’ days.

      -Fab

  4. Pingback: So, You Think You Can Do Katimavik? (3/4) « The Fab Files

Leave a Reply

