Tofino and teenage love songs

Tofino, Vancouver Island
All photographs by Fabiola Carletti

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I stood on the shores of MacKenzie beach in Tofino, I was overwhelmed by feelings of nostalgia. Although it was the first time I’d ever seen a much loved beach in the surfer town, it reminded me of a song I fell in love with as a teenage girl.  I felt, on those cool April evenings during off-season, like the luckiest person to have ever watched the waves write poetry onto the sand.

Forgive my sentimentality, but we often forget to marvel at the world.

Wish you were here
Incubus

I dig my toes into the sand
The ocean looks like a thousand diamonds
Strewn across a blue blanket
I lean against the wind
Pretend that I am weightless
And in this moment I am happy…happy

I wish you were here (x4)

I lay my head onto the sand
The sky resembles a back lit canopy
With holes punched in it
I’m counting UFOs
I signal them with my lighter
And in this moment I am happy…happy

I wish you were here (x4)

The world’s a roller coaster
And I am not strapped in
Maybe I should hold with care
But my hands are busy in the air saying:

I wish you were here

I wish you were…

I wish you were here (x4)

One thought on “Tofino and teenage love songs

Leave a Reply

