If summer had a soundtrack

In summer, the song sings itself.

~William Carlos Williams

The occasional chilly breeze, the back-to-school commercials, and the opening of Exhibition Place all remind me of one inevitable truth: this summer, too, shall pass.

This has me wondering: If summer had a soundtrack, which songs would it include?

I don’t just mean summer 2010, I mean all the songs that have ever made people appreciate the season in which there’s something almost transcendental about having a nap in a swaying hammock during the day.

And after night cloaks you in starlight, which songs make you want to get up and move your body in ways that would make pale winter blush?

In short: picture yourself with your feet dangling in the cool waters of a pool, with something refreshing in hand, and surrounded by stringed patio lights. You feel relaxed. You feel like you can anything could happen during this midsummer night’s dream.

What song would you want… no, need to hear? Please, comment below or email me at ef.carletti@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “If summer had a soundtrack

  1. Slow day songs*

    -Here’s to the night, Eve 6
    -Jammin’, Bob Marley (classic)
    -Me gustas tu, Manu Chao
    -California girls, Beach boys (NOT Katy Perry)
    -Under the boardwalk,…the drifters?

    Fast night songs*
    -I gotta feeling, Black Eyed Peas
    -We got the beat, Go Gos
    -Woop There It Is …Umm? Can’t remember

    That’s all I can think of for now.

  2. When I was a child the song that made me realize it was summer was the song for MarineLand. When the commercial would come on and I would hear “Niagra Falls Ontario…” I would go crazy and yell “Summer is here!!!”

  3. I thought this would be easy for me to answer, being the crazed pop music fan I am. The only songs I could come up with though are what defined summer 2010 for me: “All the Lovers” by Kylie and “Teenage Dream” by Katy Perry.

Leave a Reply

