6 thoughts on “Hey, twenty-something – do you still live at home?

  1. Hi! I found this post linked on my twitter through someone I follow. It was a great read and I often do wonder why I, myself, have been so slow to launch and to leave home. I totally do see all the reasons above as so viable! It’s extremely difficult to feel the need to leave when my culture, and my family say it’s okay to leave. So why not just stay home? I get all the things I need without having to compromise my bank account – except, now I’m feeling as if it could be a burden. I am meeting people all the time who are my age, or younger, and living on their own, which can be a bit disconcerting for me.

    Either way, thanks for the great read!

    • Hey Anita, I think it’s really a case-by-case type of thing — especially if, culturally, your parents are really okay with you staying home. I think it’s a different sense of how families work.

      Mine has never been organized like the standard nuclear family. I’ve had aunts, uncles, grandmas, cousins all live with me and it’s always been normal. (Other cultures might consider extended family to be guests overstaying their welcome or something.)

      Did you watch the documentary, by any chance? It’s interesting!

  2. This issue is getting more exposure now, bit it’s not a new phenomenon. Youth unemployment in Ontario averaged close to 15% during the 1990s, when there was painful recession, stagnant economic prospects etc. The main difference for young people between then and now would be that postsecondary education wasn’t as expensive in the ’90s, even after taking inflation into account.

    • Good point. The doc rightly points out that the Boomer ideal is an aberration. And you’re right to point out that this is not a new trend. I think the number of twenty-somethings living and returning home will only increase.

  3. You bring up a lot of interesting points both in the original post and with the update, Fab. This definitely has come up numerous times in conversations with friends and family. For me, I was welcomed home for the summers between uni but after graduating I was expected to go out on my own and I never questioned it nor did I want to go back. Currently, I’m in an odd situation living with my grandma and aunt in Aussie but I know that if I was still in Canada, I would not be living at home. Like you, I savor my independence and though I have debt to pay, I would still live with roomies. I’ve experienced and learned so much leaving home and though I dearly love my family, that freedom of doing whatever the eff I want is a beautiful thing. I feel people do need to experience that freedom BUT I also understand that I’m in a lucky percentage of having the luxury to live out on my own whereas others may not have that. I was amused by “We are graduating with record debts, delaying major life decisions, and longing for things as ill-defined as self-fulfillment and happiness” because I feel I fall into that category. I sometimes think about how I’ll be able to afford all the “grown-up things” but thinking about owning a car or home cause me to feel trapped. I really find this whole change up of societal norms fascinating. How will we be affected by this in the future?

  4. For me a way how to get out of my parent’s house was choosing rent-to-own. My personal experience is very positive, there are many reasons. I highly appreciated the fact I could avoid having purchased my dream house by someone else. Also, my friend changed her mind and found out the house was not as good as it seemed, she could simply terminate the agreement. Nobody is obliged to buy anything. Apart from flexibility, there’s new feeling of independence as you start really live on your own, at your own place. It’s good to know about the wider social implications of what does it mean to live with parents when you are old enough.

Leave a Reply

